growing in the garden

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by dranefotie2, Dec 4, 2008.

1. dranefotie2

dranefotie2 New Egg

Dec 4, 2008
    reno, nevada
    new guy here...hello to everyone...

i have a question about what kind of things i can grow in my garden this year to let my chickens graze on during the day...it will be seperate from my other garden which i do not want the chickens in...i have read a little about proso and did a search but i'm not convinced that's what i want to grow...

i plan on having 10-20 chickens if that matters and my garden is actually quite big...were on almost an acre..

is there other grains or veggies out there...i'm new to raising chickens this will be my first time so any input is greatly appreciated

2. freemotion

freemotion Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 10, 2008
    Western MA
    If they don't have access to grass, how about some greens, like kale, spinach, swiss chard, etc? I planted Dutch white clover in my pathways in my garden (green manure and mulch, and feels nice on bare feet....became chicken food, too) and some kale in the back that I left for the girls, and when I opened the gate in the fall, they ate it all. And they have access to a large grassy pasture, but they loved cleaning up my garden and digging it all in and de-bugging it for me for next year.

3. silkiechicken

silkiechicken Staff PhD Premium Member

If you're trying to actually grow a garden to fruiting stage for the chickens, what ever you want to grow, fence it off and keep them out till they are at the stage you want to feed them to the birds as treats... else, they will eat all the seeds right up off the ground and scratch up the fresh dirt you put everything down on. I've got wooded and cleared acreage for birds to roam, but given the chance or a small gap through the fence, they'll spend the entire day uprooting and destroying the garden...