Growing out foot feathers

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Missy3b, Apr 27, 2011.

1. Missy3b

Missy3b Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 29, 2009
    Central Missouri
    I am looking for advice on growing out foot feathers. Because of the hard winter we had, my feather footed birds all have scruffy foot feathers. What's the best way to aid in the growing of long, beautiful foot feathers that they once had? I know they should be up off the dirty ground but are there feeds that offer special vitamins, minerals, etc? Opinions are appreciated. Thanks.

2. HHandbasket

HHandbasket The Chickeneer

Hi there! I am no expert by any means, and I do not know a lot about feather footed birds per se. BUT, I know that when birds are growing new feathers in general, their protein needs are increased because feathers (like human hair, kinda) are made of proteins. When hens molt, they stop laying eggs for a while because their bodies are using up all their protein intake in generating new feathers, or at least that is what I have read. I would imagine that if your birds are missing feathers even on their legs and feet, you could help them restore their feathers by increasing their protein. Quinoa is a good grain that's high in protein, and of course, scrambled eggs, unsalted cooked meat scraps, mealworms, and a "grower" type chicken feed that's higher in protein.

edited for typos.

Last edited: Apr 27, 2011
  3. chickendales

chickendales Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 24, 2011
    Michigan
    i give high protien feed and pluck some feathers if i want new ones for show

4. Debbi

Debbi Overrun With Chickens

May 2, 2010
    Missouri
    X2! Get your protein content up. I use Game Bird grower, or if that's not available to you, use a Chick Grower (non-medicated). I also use Black Oil Sunflower seeds, mealworms, whole grain bread, and suet. You may also want to check for scaley leg mites?

5. Mr. Ree

Mr. Ree Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 7, 2007