1. Come check out hundreds of awesome coop pages (and a few that need suggestions) in our 2018 Coop Rating Project!

growing space

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by Amyh, Aug 7, 2010.

1. Amyh

Amyh Songster

Jul 11, 2010
    North Carolina
    I was wondering if a 13x7 dog kennel would be big enough for meat birds? Also, would it provide enough protection for them? I would have to cover the top with something... what would be best? The entire kennel would be inside my fenced yard where my dogs roam and seem to protect us from most predators.

Thoughts?

2. sonew123

sonew123 Poultry Snuggie

Mar 16, 2009
    onchiota NY
    Quote:thats a great size depending on how many meaties your putting in there-How many you have?

3. Amyh

Amyh Songster

Jul 11, 2010
    North Carolina
    Quote:thats a great size depending on how many meaties your putting in there-How many you have?

I was thinking about starting out with 10 - 15 to see how I do. I'm new to this and don't want to get in way too deep. Eventually, I'd love to do 25 in that space. Is that large enough?

I'm still wondering if it would provide enough protection and what I would cover the top with....

4. sonew123

sonew123 Poultry Snuggie

Mar 16, 2009
    onchiota NY

I was thinking about starting out with 10 - 15 to see how I do. I'm new to this and don't want to get in way too deep. Eventually, I'd love to do 25 in that space. Is that large enough?

I'm still wondering if it would provide enough protection and what I would cover the top with....

well I have 26 and they are going in a 8 x 5 run with a small coop 4 x 3 so you are all good-my first time too-its all a learning experience for all of us LOL

5. Buttercup Chillin

Buttercup Chillin Songster

Oct 27, 2008
    SouthEast TX
    At 2 Sq Ft per meat bird you could have 45 or even 50 harvesting a few young as you need more room.