1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

growth on my ladies bum

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by misswicks, Sep 3, 2014.

1. misswicks

misswicks Hatching

Sep 3, 2014
    Mansfield- UK
    Hi all. I'm new to BYC page but have had hens now for the last three years. Unfortunately my first post is a unhappy one! Came online for help and found this page.
    Ok so, one of my hybrids has some kind of gooey ball of growth coming out her bum. I thought she was just muddied up over the last few days but today i managed to look closer.. Its definitely a fairly big growth! Shes still moving around ok and eating etc. Walking slower than usual though.. Not sure if she is laying though as her and two others are early morning layers so done before I check, I'm only getting one egg from those three so unsure which us laying!
    Does anyone has any ideas what it could be? I'm gonna take a picture to share too wen I figure out how lol

2. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 Free Ranging Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
    1 person likes this.
  3. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Crowing 5 Years

Jul 24, 2013
    [​IMG] Glad you joined us!

I'm sorry about your hen--hopefully whatever is wrong with her can be successfully treated. I would definitely post her symptoms in the Emergencies forum. It is possible she has prolapsed vent, or something else. Photos would help.

Good luck with her!

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member 9 Years

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    After you post on the emergencies thread, put "prolapsed vent," in the search box to get some basic information.

5. Mountain Peeps

Mountain Peeps Change is inevitable, like the seasons Premium Member

Apr 23, 2014
    Colorado
    My Coop