Guard dog for chickens

jo-me

In the Brooder
11 Years
Nov 13, 2008
What kind of dog should I buy for a guard dog for my chickens. Does the dog have to be a puppy? Does it have to live with the chickens in the chicken pen? I just lost 3 roos and 2 hens while we were out for the day to dogs. I am not sure but I think it was dogs and I can't say my dog might not have been one of them. Althou she has never attack them in fact she ignors them . Their has been a stray hanging around her but I have never seen neither of them chasing chickens. She is not in season or coming in. We do have a neighbor that has a dog that continues to wiped out neighbors chickens. TIA

They have yet to be around chickens because I do not have chickens yet , but I've been raising American Bulldogs [ the classic type ] for a few years and for some reason every one of them absolutely ignored all birds including the Canadian geese that nest on a lake we sometimes go to . On the other hand they want to catch anything with fur and will not back down from a fight . Because I had a huge flock of starlings or grackles that were freeloading off the outside dog bowls while the dogs looked on I eventually taught the two I have now to keep them away [ also stopped feeding outside LOL ] ....... but it took some urging to convince them that birds were trespassers and they still ignore the robbins that nest in my apple tree above their runs and the doves that drink from my rain barrel which I think is great . I don't know if ignoring feathered creatures is normal in the breed or just the few I've had . The down side is mine have to have early socialization with strangers , cats , etc. , are very territorial with other dogs and can be dog aggressive [ its been impossible to keep two males or two females together and my present male/female pair have to be kept in seperate runs ] , and VERY hard to convince to release anything they get ahold of including trepassing dogs . The breed is still used as a catch dog