Guard dogs as both indoor and outdoor dogs?

Laurobee13

In the Brooder
7 Years
Aug 1, 2012
Clermont, GA
Hello, we just got a Great Pyrenees/Anatolian Shep cross puppy (10 weeks old) and we intend for him to live solely with our flock and livestock. He was raised for this - both his parents are outdoor livestock guardians, and he has lived outdoors (with shelter) his whole life.

My question is, if we allow him to come inside will he become "soft" and not guard are animals anymore, and only guard us? Or do you think he can establish a healthy bond between us and the animals at the same time?

This is my first time with a dog thats sole job is to protect, so any advice is helpful!

(He has lots of shelter, access to clean water and food, and plenty of warms spots to get out of the wind)

This very much a proximity issue assuming dog is not properly bonded to stock it is to protect. If bonded odds are it will stay with stock. Not all dogs will stay with charges if given access to house and not all will come into house. I have dogs (not LGD's) that protect poultry very well. They are not imprinted on poultry as intended but they respond to threats very well. Dogs have access to house though pet door but during night the spend most of time out side. In my setting staying with all roosting birds is not possible since roosts are dispersed, therefore dogs usually concentrate their activities in close proximity to house and periodically patrol property. In addition going after threats they detect themselves, they also respond to alarms made by chickens. Your dog can learn to do same very easily despite that not being a part of its breeding.

Downside of dogs going in and out is tracking of stuff onto floor and the occasional varmint brought in. Live opossums can be all sorts of fun but worst is dead skunk dog kills.

An issue for me would be that when they are in the house, they are not out protecting the livestock.