Guardian Livestock Dogs- How do I begin?

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by Catmoose1347, Feb 3, 2015.

1. Catmoose1347

Catmoose1347 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2014
    Washington
    The final straw was waking up at midnight to the screeching alpacas, crowing roosters, and howling coyotes. The whole "LGD" idea has been floating around my head for weeks now, and I have bobcats, coyotes, and even the occasional cougar or bear in the area.

I'm especially worried about the alpacas, who are on the other side of the property. And even if there was something attacking any of my animals, it's not like I could do anything, either. I'd have to just sit there and watch...

I have found surprisingly little information on guardian dogs and I'm not sure if it would be a good decision to get one.

I have a relatively small amount of land (only 2.5 acres). I have no experience with dogs, but my dad has, so he could help. I would prefer to get an adult dog that is already trained. What breeds and how many would be best?

Thoughts?

2. Folly's place

Folly's place Chicken Obsessed

Sep 13, 2011
    southern Michigan
    An actual LGD is a huge commitment, needing previous dog experience, more fenced acres, and about two years training time. The guard dog needs to live with the animals to be guarded all the time. and will not be good with humans in general. Think Wyoming sheep ranches. For large predators, more than one big dog is needed. How about a llahma or a donkey with the alpacas? Much more user friendly for them, and for you. Good fencing, preferable electric packing a real zing, will be much less expensive than any living critter added to your property. Mary

3. Stacykins

Stacykins Overrun With Chickens

Jan 19, 2011
    Escanaba, MI