Guess That Turkey - Bourbon Reds - sex

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by kimb, Aug 14, 2013.

1. kimb

kimb Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 30, 2009
    New Hampshire
    I have 5 bourbon red poults hatched on 6/6 ... I know they're still probably too young but I thought maybe some experts might know what I might have.

this is the smallest but i bribed them with food so I could take some pictures this little one "clucked" up a storm at me and paraded all around while the other 4 happily ate.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Celie

Celie Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2012
    Tickfaw, Louisiana
    I am no expert, but I will give you my opinion, based on what I believe I see in your beautiful pictures!
    1. All colored feathered turkey hens will have lighter edging on the breast features and toms will have darker edging.
    2. Males will weigh more than females hatched at the same time and this will become more apparent as they grow older.
    3. Toms will have thicker legs than hens.
    4. Both can have beards, but toms will grow longer.
    5. Toms have longer thicker snoods as they reach maturity.
    6. Toms Chronicles will be bigger than hens and the heads and necks will be a darker red.
    7. Toms will be bald, while hens will develop a thin line of feathers up the back of their heads.
    8. If you can hold the bird on your lap, laying on it's back, at any age, if it holds it's feet up close to it's back, it is probably a hen, because it is a defensive position for a tom or a rooster, too,(for that , matter) to extend one or both legs. This, I find works from day old chicks or poults, with 94 degree accuracy.
    9. Both will display when young, but by the age of sexual maturity, only toms gobble.
    with this said, I am just guessing 3 toms and 2 hens! Please let us know what they are when you know for sure? [​IMG]

3. kimb

kimb Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 30, 2009