Guess The Sex: Black Copper Marans!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Sunfeathers, May 8, 2017.

1. Sunfeathers

Sunfeathers New Egg

Mar 15, 2017
    Las Vegas
    Hello everyone! I am brand new to chickens, and decided early on I wanted to keep Black Copper Marans (for the pretty, delicious-looking eggs). Unable to find any local breeders, I went ahead and ordered 2 sets of eggs from Bluewater Ranch, and lo, I am now the proud owner of 13 adorable chicks! I am aiming for a flock of at least 6 hens, and perhaps 1 rooster if I can have him decrowed (I live in the city). In my greed for eggs, I would probably keep 2 more hens if I got them, and rehome the extra roos. I'm so excited to be raising my very first flock!

A Chicken Person(tm) feather sexed the first batch of chicks, and, using her sage advice and demonstration, I attempted to feather sex the second set. I am posting photos so that (hopefully) I can document their development and see whether we were correct in our assessments. I am sure some of these names are going to change in the future. I hope these photos can help some other chicken newbie sex their chicks sometime in the future, I know I will be referring to other series just like this one as I continue to try to Guess The Sex! All experienced, inexperienced, and off-the-wall guesses are appreciated, right now the first set of chicks is about 1.5 weeks and the second set is only a few days old, so it's all in good fun at this point.

[​IMG]
    This is Faith! She's the calmest chick so far. She was feather sexed by the Chicken Person as female.

[​IMG]
    This is Ganon. Ironically (for those of you who've guessed my naming scheme), Ganon has been calmer than Link. He was feather sexed by the Chicken Person as male.

[​IMG]
    This is Jade; the second largest chick and a bit feisty. She was feather sexed by the Chicken Person as female.

[​IMG]