Guinea Keets Coming Soon...Have Arrived!

DeAnzaJig

Chirping
6 Years
Jan 26, 2015
Hello Group!

I am very excited! I have 18 Guinea Keets (and 12 various chicks) scheduled to arrive next week.

This is my first time raising any type of fowl, but I have done extensive reading on this wonderful website and other GF sources. I have had guineas in my head for many years and finally am in the right spot. My main reason for acquiring them is tick control.

This is a picture of my brooder. The base is a children's pool we don't use any more. My dad built the frame from scraps of wood he had laying around and some extra chicken wire. It is removeable so I can take everyone outside for grass and fresh air when they get a little bigger. I plan on keeping it in my parlor until I can move them to their as of yet still unfinished coop.

Today I am going to get the heat lamp set up and test the temps.

Do you just leave the thermometer in the brooder the whole time, even when the Keets arrive?

Thanks!

Last edited:
It looks like you will have a pretty good set up. I'm glad to see that you have cardboard around the edges since guinea keets can easily get thru chicken wire the first week or two. What type of bedding have you planned on? Pine chips will work okay once they are a few weeks old but you should have it covered in the beginning to keep the newborns from eating it instead of their food. I use old towels since they need to be on a surface that is not slick. Another suggestion is to have half of the circle covered (top and sides) to hold in the heat and prevent any drafts from the window above them.
Some people use a brooder thermometer to constantly monitor the temperature but I don't. Once the brooder is warmed up I use the babies themselves to let me know if they are too hot or too cold. They will huddle together if chilled and get away from the light if it is too hot.