Guinea Noise at Night?

StephJuno

Chirping
Jul 15, 2020
I keep my guineas (5- 2 males and 3 females, about 9 months old now) in one of our smaller chicken coops and it has seemed to work fine until now. The guineas go up to bed on their own and have always settled down as soon as it gets dark. The coop they are in is very secure and I lock them down tight. They've always been quiet until dawn (except for little chirps or once or twice when something spooked them), but now they've started being noisy late at night and a few hours before dawn. It's mostly the boys and I've almost never heard them make their calls in the coop. I'm not sure what to do or if this is normal since we're going into mating season. This is my first year with guineas.
I'm wondering if it's too dark for them? I close up the windows (though there is plenty of ventilation). I've thought of using a nightlight or opening the shudders. I've also thought maybe they need a bigger coop? Their coop was built to house about 15 chickens. They seem to have a lot of room. We've also thought of making their covered run more secure so that they can sleep in there. They free range all day, but we have an attached run that we keep open for them.
Any thoughts or suggestions as to what is going on with them or how to make them quieter/happier at night? Thanks in advance!