Gurgling hen after bear attack

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Cultivateuse, Aug 15, 2011.

1. Cultivateuse

Cultivateuse New Egg

Aug 15, 2011
    Hi --

This is my first time posting here and I'm hoping you all can help me figure this out...

On Saturday night a bear broke into the coop and killed 3 hens. It trashed the run, ripped hardware cloth in half to climb into a window and tore apart the poor chickens. Another chicken looked like she wasn't going to make it but she rallied by yesterday morning. She is missing some feathers but I can't find any blood or wounds on her. She is, however, gurgling and has her beak open all the time. She's moving slowly and seems traumatized, but she's walking around and eating and drinking.

Any thoughts on what might be wrong and how best to treat her? The other chickens are not picking on her, so I've left her in with them for now (there's only 6).

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

2. okiedrifter

okiedrifter Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2011
    did you shoot the bear? My cure all is watermelon cubes in the summer and frozen watermelon in the winter its natural sugar for stressing chicken.....she is most likely scared spitless...does she feel like she has broken ribs? did he squeeze her hard enough to damage her if so do her a favor and put her down.
    What was he after? if the Bear wasnt killed or caught and relocated he will be back he has located a food or water source...so you may need to relocate your hens till he is relocated....
    So sorry we have had several bear around here they are coming down for water....its been a dry year here in Okla

3. Cultivateuse

Cultivateuse New Egg

Aug 15, 2011
    I didn't know that about the watermelon! Definitely worth a try. I'm not sure about the ribs -- it's possible, but I'm not sure how to tell (I'm afraid of squeezing and hurting her!)