H everyone, new chicks and new to site

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by smcdermott, Dec 9, 2014.

1. smcdermott

smcdermott Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 9, 2014
    Central Fl
    Hi Everyone!!

I l[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I literally just brought home my first 2 silkie chicks EVER. I am so excited I could just burst.
    I have been researching and reading (trying to convince hubby) for 2 years. Jumped in with 2 feet today. Now I am so nervous. Are they warm enough, are they sick or just sleeping, (kids stay away, you will stress them out). Haha One is 2 weeks and 1 is 1 week. In my mind I was rescuing them from the strange place I got them from and am really wishing I could bathe them, kind of like giving them a fresh start. Sorry that is my mothering coming out. Anywho I can’t wait to visit with everyone and ask some questions.

2. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana
    Welcome to BYC! Glad you decided to join our flock. Congratulations on the new chicks. It's always so exciting getting new chicks; especially the first ones. Please feel free to ask any questions you may have. We are here to help in any way we can. Good luck with your chicks.

3. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Welcome to BYC![​IMG] We're glad to have you. If you have any questions, feel free to ask!

Good luck with the chicks!

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Oh what cuties you have. You could bathe if necessary (matted up with poo & very stinky)if you did it fast, gently and followed with a hair dryer. Then wrap in a towel till it builds it's body heat back up