Hack my chickens! What have I got here?? help please

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by vidpro23, Nov 1, 2013.

1. vidpro23

vidpro23 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 15, 2013
    Ok,..Im new to chickens and the farm we moved to - shocker :) . Wanted laying hens right away - so answered CL ad that said " Americauna Laying Hens - heritage breed, not hatchery junk. - born may 2013 and about to start laying" - I had to jump in the pool someplace - even after reading books and thinking I knew what I was doing lol

So long story short, I leave there with what I THINK* are 7 Americauna hens and an Americauna rooster (hatched may 2013), 1 Buff Orpington (2yrs old) and 3 Production Red Hens (1yr) that he threw in. The buff is my favorite - def the most personality. The reds seem friendly. and the other "Americaunas" are skittish and nervous. The rooster is a big sissy and all the girls chase him around from the looks of it. Not crowing either.

Now I've been told that's not what I have,... so I wanted to see what you guys think. I am only getting 3-5 eggs a day with this motley crew and I dont know whose laying and whose not. I dont know if the "americauna" girls are just not laying at all yet. I'm in north Florida and temps are still nice here. They have been in the coop/run now for going on 3 weeks to train them before I let them free range probably starting this weekend in a fenced in area

Opinions appreciated on breeds!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Hillschicks

Hillschicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 17, 2012