Had to put our fav chicken down today

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by chickenchick99, Oct 16, 2014.

1. chickenchick99

chickenchick99 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 16, 2014
    Vancouver Island, Canada
    I am new to chickens and to this board.
    A week ago I picked up our fav hen (a little black thing that looked like a crow with the softest feathers you could imagine, approx 6-8 months old) and let the neighbour pet her. She commented that her crop was unusually large and hard. I Googled like crazy and determined that she must have an impacted crop. I gave her water and olive oil with a syringe (some sites said to do this while others said it was dangerous as she could aspirate the liquids - read this after I had already done it). I tried at least 20 times to get her to vomit, but nothing came out. No foul smell emitted from her mouth,
    I kept her inside in a cage with water only. In the morning her crop was quite malleable and it looked like she had pooped approx 15 times. By malleable I mean that it was no longer rock hard and the size of a tennis ball, but when you would squish it, it would remain in place/stay squished. Not normal.
    Also, for the past few weeks we noticed her opening her beak and grasping for breath (my hubby and I thought this was hilarious when we first noticed - thought maybe she was a rooster, trying to crow and nothing would come out)
    So, after the one night in a cage I felt bad and let her out with the others. I checked her crop the next morning and it felt the same (still way larger than it should be and stayed squished). Yesterday it was quite large again, today, huge and rock solid.
    I put her in the car and brought her to a vet who is not an avian vet (none in the area) but treats all of the birds from the local Raptor Centre (figured he must know something and was also bringing him my 4 month old turkey who broke her/his? leg on Monday)