1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hamburgs?

Discussion in 'Chicken Breeders & Hatcheries' started by Chicken Bee, Feb 3, 2011.

1. Chicken Bee

Chicken Bee Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 29, 2009
    Long Island
    Would anybody be able to recommend any hatcheries or breeders of Hamburgs, in colors other than silver spangled? I would prefer a variety. I don't need them to be perfect show quality, since I'm not intending to show or breed them. Also, I need a place that is either located in, or willing to ship to New York.

I'm still new to buying chickens, especially online, so all help and information is greatly appreciated. [​IMG]

2. draye

draye Overrun With Chickens

Nov 30, 2010
    Arkansas
    Ideal hatchery has the following:

Blue Hamburgs (with these you may also get black and splash) the blue usually breeds out 50% blue, 25% black and 25% splash.
    Golden Penciled Hamburgs
    Golden Spangled Hamburgs
    Silver Penciled Hamburgs
    Silver Spangled Hamburgs

3. Chicken Bee

Aug 29, 2009
    Long Island
    Interesting! Thank you. Does anybody have pictures and/or experience buying Hamburgs from Ideal? My largest priority is healthy birds, and then good color.

Also, is there any place I can find Black or Citron Hamburgs? I've read about these colors, but I'm not sure where I can get them from.

Last edited: Feb 4, 2011
  4. draye

draye Overrun With Chickens

Nov 30, 2010
    Arkansas
    Not specifically hamburgs but chickens in general from Ideal yes, The chicks arrived alive and well. Lost a couple in about 2 days (expected), colors can be off somewhat tough, especially the laced birds.

5. Shanty

Shanty Out Of The Brooder

Jul 4, 2010
    Canutillo Texas