Hand Embroidery... Tell me all about it!

Discussion in 'Hobbies' started by SterlingAcres, Dec 7, 2008.

1. SterlingAcres

SterlingAcres Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 17, 2008
    Poconos, PA
    I'll be starting my crafting next week for holiday gifts. I'd like to embroider a few items to give this year, but I've never done it before.

What will I need? Patience I have. Equipment, not so much. Tell me all about it! Please and thank you.

2. eggchel

eggchel Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Dec 26, 2006
    Both Coasts
    Hey Shellie,

Here is a link to a site that has tons of little video clips showing how to do all kinds of embroidery stitches: http://www.needlenthread.com/2006/10/video-library-of-hand-embroidery.html

What are you thinking of embroidering?

There is not much equipment to buy.
    You will need embroidery floss (thread), embroidery needles (sharp with a slightly larger eye), an embroidery hoop (size according to work), fabric item to be embroidered(depends on project), and a design (sketch, trace, or iron-on transfers).
    If you have a packet of assorted needles, there may be an embroidery needle in the packet.

Basic stitches that you should learn are the satin stitch for filling in, the outline stitch for lines, the daisy stitch for flowers, and the french knot for details.

Hope that helps a little.
    Chel

3. peeplessinNC

peeplessinNC Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 23, 2008
    NC Piedmont
    Shellie, you might want to look into redwork embroidery, sometimes called outline stitch embroidery. I've been doing this for the past year or so and really enjoy it. I think it is one of the simplest styles of handwork that there is.

All you need is a small embroidery hoop, embroidery needles, a small pair of scissors, embroidery floss or 12 wt. thread on a spool (Sulky brand is good), and a pattern. I've made about 6 kitchen towels for gifts in the past month, just sewing at night while I watch TV.