Handling chickens

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by cvido47, Jun 3, 2016.

1. cvido47

cvido47 New Egg

May 25, 2016
    Park City, MT
    So I'm really new to chickens. I've had my first flock for just over 3 months now. I was told in the very beginning by multiple people to not hold the chick's. I never did, but now i can't get close enough to get them without them freaking out. Any suggestions?

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    [​IMG] If you need to examine them, catch them at night when they are roosting. Some breeds are more flighty than others, but in general chickens as a prey species don't like being caught.

1 person likes this.
  3. chickens really

chickens really Overrun With Chickens

They are flighty till they come into lay. Then they will calm down.
    Chickens depending on the bird might like a petting ?? Usually they love us from a distance or come running for food.
    If I have to handle one its quick and I do what was needed and let them go.

4. Peeps61

Peeps61 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2014
    NW Florida
    I agree with everything posted above! My experience is that some breeds are friendlier than others. Some are even bossy when it comes to treats and food, like Rhode Island Reds. My friendliest breed has been my standard sized Cochin hens. When they came to the point of lay, they would literally crawl in my lap or pick at my shirt and pants while I was sitting and watching them. They will get a bit friendlier, especially when they associate you with food (treats).

5. cvido47

cvido47 New Egg

May 25, 2016
    Park City, MT
    My reds are the biggest babies in the group. When snack time comes around, the barred rocks and brahmas are bossy. They will all come up to me at snack time, and even eat out of my hand. But the second i move, they bolt. Is it true that you're not supposed to handle them as chick's?

6. aart

aart Chicken Juggler! Premium Member

Nov 27, 2012