Hanging feeders

alishaluvsducks

Hatching
Apr 6, 2016
Michigan
I am new to poultry and bought a hanging feeder from my feed store. Im wondering how to hang the feeder. Do i use chain or rope and how do I secure it to the ceiling of my garage?

Chain link is good because it's easy to adjust the height of it, or disconnect it if you want to take it out to clean, etc. (I used to take mine out to fill before I found a bendable bowl around Halloween ... now just pour the food in LOL)

welcome-byc.gif

As you are looking at suspending from such a great height I would suggest considering raising it by placing it on something vs. suspending -- cinder blocks, paving stones, wood blocks, etc work great. Hanging from lesser heights is certainly convenient, but the garage ceiling is a bit high and creates more hassle than benefit, imo. For hanging from lesser heights you want to anchor into something sufficient for bearing the weight (what size is your feeder?) - my feeder is anchored by a heavy duty lag hook that is screwed through a 2x4 with a locking nut on the end.

I am new to poultry and bought a hanging feeder from my feed store. Im wondering how to hang the feeder. Do i use chain or rope and how do I secure it to the ceiling of my garage?

I am too wondering about this. I currently have my feeders raised on paving stones but some of my girls sit on the edges and spill it all out. I have high ceilings in the poultry shed/stable so would not want it to turn into a swinging weapon but equally dont want rope/chain suspended accross multiple beams to anchor each feeder. I'm going to google for other ways around it.

I found this and am thinking maybe 5 inside for pellets, 2 for water and 1 for oyster shell and maybe 1 for pellets and 1 for water outside. They will not take as much space and there will be much less waste.

I like using small chain.
The stuff I bought was decorative chain but plenty strong enough for a feeder/waterer.