"Hannibal Lucy" the bully

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by LillyUganda, Nov 25, 2012.

1. LillyUganda

LillyUganda New Egg

Nov 25, 2012
    Hi All,
    I'm a newbie to this site and to the art of raising chickens. We just got our first small flock of four a week ago. We split a flock with another couple; they had raised them from chicks and only wanted 4 hens. They all have their adult feathers, so are ready to be outside, but not laying yet. Day one was an OK day, they seemed happy, although it was obvious the Golden Sex Link, Lucy was asserting herself to be top hen. Day two I kept a close eye on them. It was then I noticed the small California White, Lilly (who had been picked on as a young chick according to the other couple) was down stairs in the open air coop. The other 3 were upstairs in the hen house. I checked on them and noticed that Lucy was still asserting herself. After about an hour I heard some distressed noises coming from the hen house. I quickly went out and discovered that the Black Jersey Giant, Jemma and the Rhode Island Red, Rosie, were missing more tail feathers and were being pecked bloody by Lucy. They kept trying to get away from her and no matter where they went she chased them down and kept after them. I also noticed that Jemma was always putting herself between the other two hens and our small Lilly. Also, Rosie appeared to be following Lucy's lead in pecking our Jersey Girl, Jemma.
    I had already read the other threads on bully chickens, so knew it was time to separate Lucy from the other hens. She is now out in a dog crate, placed right near the main coop. She has been there for a week.