1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Happiest Newbie Ever!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by BrattishTaz, Jan 10, 2011.

1. BrattishTaz

BrattishTaz Roo Magnet

Jan 8, 2011
    Tampa Area, Florida
    Hello BYC!

Before I start, I would like to tell you that I am fairly new to chickens AND to online forums, so please excuse any newbie errors.

I am a mom of two teenage daughters and have a cat that rules the house. We live in central Florida.

I decided almost a year ago that since we moved to a rural area that raising chickens would be a good experience for my girls. I'm not sure why I decided this because I always hated chickens (a chick pecked me in the eye when I was little). So anyway, I went and bought three little chicks, I picked out a fluffy yellow one and a black one with pale yellow markings on it. As I was about to walk away, I saw this little black chick diving into a sea of larger yellow ones. I remember thinking about the ugly duckling. I scooped it up and told the man that I would like one male and two females. He checked the chicks I was holding and told me that is what I had. I brought the new babies home and set them up in a cat carrier with heating lamp and then put that into a large dog cage. My girls were thrilled when they saw them.