Happy chickies!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by YULickenthat, Mar 9, 2015.

1. YULickenthat

YULickenthat Out Of The Brooder

Mar 9, 2015
    Reno, Nv
    Hi!! My name is Jamie and I live in Reno Nevada. I am new to BYC and basically the whole chicken raising thing in general, so forgive me if I ask silly questions. I am so excited to be starting this new venture! My family had chickens when I was a kid, so I remember very little info on the process. I just bought my first 5 Rhode Island Reds and have 4 black Australorps shipping at the end of April. I have been told that handling them a lot as babies can ensure friendlier chickens in the long run, making it easier to deal with them in the future. So here are a few starting questions; how much handling does "a lot" entail, and what sort of handling? Do I pick them up? Do I pet them? Will it help to bring them "treats" when they are old enough to digestively handle it? Any advice on helping to create happy friendly chickens is very welcome!

2. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Welcome to BYC.

3. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    I'm a person who tends to over do things, I don't have a moderation control. But, I would say spending some time with the chicks (maybe 20 minutes or so) once a day would be a good start. If you can sit on the floor and let them come to you, they may do so., rather than grabbing at them which will scare them. Also sitting down you aren't such a giant to them.