Happy Holidays to All

Discussion in 'Pictures & Stories of My Chickens' started by Nizzletripe, Dec 21, 2009.

1. Nizzletripe

Nizzletripe Out Of The Brooder

May 30, 2009
    This is a photo of my 7 month New Hamshire Red rooster, Miracle. Miracle came to me by sheer accident. I am a teacher and have raised eggs in the classroom for several years. After the eggs hatch I return the chicks back to the farm. So, I know very little about chicken raising. Last May, however, it was a bit different. The incubator I was using was faulty and the temperature inside rose to over 105 degrees. At 22 days, there was not a single pip. At about the 25th day, just when I was going to turn the incubator off and get rid of the eggs, a noticed a tiny hole in one of the eggs. I made sure the moisture level was adequate and hoped for the best. I left school for the day and returned the next morning only to find the hole only slightly bigger. That's when I started searching the web and found Backyard Chickens. I read and read and eventually realized that I had to help this little chick out of the egg. So, I painstakenly chipped and peeled the egg over a period of hours. The little guy inside was growing weaker and weaker. So, I peeled the chick out of the egg. It was weak and had a very crooked neck. I didn't know what to do, I didn't want to leave him in the incubator because it was Memorial Day weekend. I was afraid I would come back to a dead chick:( I did the only thing any nobel animal lover would do, I took him home. For the ride home, I wrapped him in a towel, placed him in a cardboard box and hurried home as quick as possilbe. When I got home, my husband was waiting with a large plastic container lined with pine shavings and a carpenter's lamp. I transferred the little chick and hoped for the best. When he wouldn't eat or drink, I again contacted the Backyard Chicken Forum and so many of you wrote back and told me what to do. So, I mashed his meal with egg yolk, fed him water wi