Happy to be a new member!!!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Farmer-John, Jan 2, 2013.

1. Farmer-John

Farmer-John Out Of The Brooder

Jan 1, 2013
    Yorkville, Indiana
    Hello all my new fowl friends,

My name is John from Yorkville, IN. I am a chemist by trade, but always a farmer since a child. I raise more than just chickens but i have to admit they have always been my passion. Such wonderful animals that give me and my family so much back. We have over thirty five chickens, (a lot more just a couple months ago, but it was butchering day at the farm) three coops including Marans (Black Copper, French variety) Buff Orpingtons, Barred Rocks, Red Rocks (black sex-links) Golden Laced Wyandottes, Americana's,(easter eggers) as well as a few Silver Duck Wings for fun.

I'm looking forward to chatting and sharing stories, and I really enjoy learning different ways people manage and raise their flocks.
    I'm in the process of constructing a new coop to raise another batch of layers. Going to incubate my Marans and raise them out. The extra roos will be for the table..

Thanks for reading and look forward to meeting some more crazy chicken people... :)

Kind regards,

John

2. willowbranchfarm

willowbranchfarm Chicken Boots

Oct 3, 2011
    Virginia
    My Coop
    [​IMG]Im Rebecca!! [​IMG] Glad you joined us. [​IMG] If you ever have any question please ask.

3. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    John, welcome to BYC. Glad that you have joined us.

4. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Howdy from Kansas, Farmer-John, and [​IMG]! Pleased you joined us! Best of luck to you and your flock!

5. Farmer-John

Farmer-John Out Of The Brooder

Jan 1, 2013
    Yorkville, Indiana
    Thanks folk for all the quick replies.... I'm new to the web-site thing, but not new to raising animals. No spring chicken here...