Hardiest Ducks for Michigan weather?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Foresthome, Feb 11, 2018.

1. Foresthome

Foresthome In the Brooder

Feb 11, 2018
    Michigan
    Hi! A duck newbie here from the woods in Port Huron, Michigan :) We have a dozen Khaki Campbells from Metzer farms that will be year this June. We are starting a small organic free range roadside business for eggs and veggies, and looking to add to our flock this spring. We have adequate housing in our modified shed for 30 but are undecided as to breed? Our ducks live a good life with every possible comfort yet we've had so many issues since the start. Two ducks were runty and have struggled/passed since arrival, sinus infections and blindness within a couple of weeks and very undersized. Currently lost one before Christmas and now housing a sickly one indoors. Are Khaki Campbells the best breed for us? Obviously egg production is important but I wonder if a little flock diversity would be helpful. I was interested in Welsh Harlequins but my husband is dead set on more Campbells. Is there a type of duck that is really hardy? I know they say all ducks are.....we have 5 kids helping out as well and the Campbells are so skittish and flighty. They are execellent foragers and smallish so eat less feed, so we are very happy on that front....but surely there are other duckies smaller in size and foragers that someone would recommend? We use organic feed, sanitize our bucket basin waterers, niacin, heat lamps below 0, vitamins, order crickets, fresh greens, warm mashes, grow dandelions year round, kiddie pools sanitized every day and given over temps of 20 degrees.....but I feel we are doing something wrong?

Poetastic likes this.
  2. Poetastic

Poetastic Chirping

Jan 20, 2018
    Northern Illinois