Has anyone else tried hugelkulture?

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by daddykirbs, Feb 13, 2013.

1. daddykirbs

daddykirbs Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 13, 2011
    I love the concept of this. We'll see if it produces! :)

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    It takes forever but I do it. It's great for old wood, limbs and logs that would otherwise rot in place, go into the trash or be burned.
    I've been doing it for a couple years since I always have an excess of that stuff.
    I've considered innoculating the pile with some mushroom spawn.

3. daddykirbs

Mar 13, 2011
    What types of things do you plant on them?

4. yinepu

yinepu Overrun With Chickens

Not quite hugelkulture... but the closest we came to it was piles and piles of chipped wood mulch from the electric company. For most of one summer they used our front yard as a dumping ground while they were clearing out around the power lines in our area. Every week or sometimes several times a week we would get dump truck loads of chipped wood for free (still had the green leaves on it and chopped up into it)
    they would just dump it into piles.. the chickens would scratch through a bit.. but we didn't do much else with it as we waited for it to compost.

During the winter you could see steam rising from the piles of shredded wood.. later on as we dug through it we also found the rotted remains of large chunks of wood much like you show in your video.

Last edited: Feb 26, 2013
  5. daddykirbs

Mar 13, 2011
    I wish i could get piles of mulch dumped on my property! There is a farm nearby that gets it and I go get it, but it would be much easier for them to bring it to me :)

6. Kilsharion

Kilsharion Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 21, 2013
    Landstown
    My Coop