Has anyone ever done a Treat Chart for baby chicks?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by guesswhatchickenbutt, Apr 5, 2009.

1. guesswhatchickenbutt

guesswhatchickenbutt Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 5, 2009
    Central FL
    I think one of the best things I've run across on BYC is the awesome Treats Chart. I am very thankful for all the time and effort that went into it.[​IMG]

My issue is this - I'm a newbie with 3 young chicks - they're about a week and a half old. I am spending a lot of time on the "raising baby chicks" forum and I've found tons of newbies, like me, who are navigating the world of new chicken ownership with a book in one hand and BYC in the other.

I'm constantly seeing questions like "when can we start yogurt?" and "when can we start scraps?" and "When can we start hard-boiled egg?" etc...

It IS hard to know when it's appropriate to start these treats. I've seen answers from yogurt at 4 days to yogurt at 4 weeks - to scraps at 2 months... to people feeding chopped up apple at 2 weeks.

So this leads me to the subject of this thread... Has anyone ever done a chick treat chart? Are there any written guidelines showing when all the tasty treats from the Treat Chart can be introduced to your chicks?

My girls are only 1.5 weeks old and so far have only had yogurt. I bought grit today with the hopes I can feed it to them along with some treats soon, but figuring out which treats to serve when is tough when you haven't developed any chicken common sense yet.

Thanks everyone![​IMG]

Edited title to show I mean "baby chicks" and not full-grown chickens.

Last edited: Apr 5, 2009
  2. guesswhatchickenbutt

Mar 5, 2009
    Central FL