Has anyone ever seen a "breetch" chick?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Chicken Keith, Feb 2, 2013.

1. Chicken Keith

Chicken Keith Chillin' With My Peeps

I incubated 18 Cuckoo Marans eggs once in my Turn-X 7 forced air 10-turn incubator. There were 12 that hatched. Of the 6 that didn't make it, 2 in particular were strange.

The fully developed embryo had turned completely backwards, head at small end, its butt at the air sac. The chick had drowned in its own fluid. Again, fully developed. All eggs were positioned with the large end tilted up, pointy end down (well, actually if you're familiar with TX-7s the eggs lay on their side.

I've been hatching eggs for 36 years, small scale, no fancy cabinet incubators here (I wish I had one!).

Has anyone else ever seen this? Last year is the first time I had seen this in 35 years.

I've hatched OE bantams whose air sac was so big (humidity set too low) that the chick pipped THROUGH the shell near the small end, but the chick was healthy as a horse after hatching.

Last edited: Feb 2, 2013
  2. stevetone

stevetone Chicken Advocate

They didn't "make the turn," which occurs at a particular point in their development, day 14 I believe.

It is my understanding that this can be caused by too rapid of development, under high incubation temperatures, causing the embryo to grow too big too early, or by low incubator humidity, causing the air cell to grow too big. In both cases, they simply do not have the room in the shell to make the turn towards the air cell.

I am sure there are other possibilities, but those are two that I recall hearing about.

3. Chicken Keith

Chicken Keith Chillin' With My Peeps