Has anyone in the Midwest used 'Cedar Chicken Coop' for their coops?

beckyrasdf

In the Brooder
5 Years
Dec 12, 2014
We're thinking about buying a chicken cool since we dont have time to build one. We found Cedar Chicken Coop (located in Wisconsin) and I wanted to know if anyone's had good experience with them. Their website is cedarchickencoop.com.
We would buy the mid-sized coop. It's moveable and able to be winterized...it seems really well thought out. But we've never had chickens before and are going on book knowdge only
1f61c.png
. Any insight would be much appreciated!!

I have no experience with these coops. They are very expensive for what you are getting. The actual "coop" in the 5 x 8 is going to be a little smaller that 3 x 5. And will comfortable hold maybe 3-5 standard chickens. Before use you will have to put hardware cloth on the bottom so predators can't get in. I can't tell and couldn't find where it tells what wire they are using, but if its chicken wire, it will be useless. Are you planning to free range your chickens? This time of year lowes,home depot, and other big stores are probably selling their model sheds at clearance. They are already built and you might look into one of those.

I have no experience with these coops.  They are very expensive for what you are getting.  The actual "coop" in the 5 x 8 is going to be a little smaller that 3 x 5.  And will comfortable hold maybe  3-5 standard chickens.  Before use you will have to put hardware cloth on the bottom so predators can't get in.  I can't tell and couldn't find where it tells what wire they are using, but if its chicken wire, it will be useless.  Are you planning to free range your chickens?  This time of year lowes,home depot, and other big stores are probably selling their model sheds at clearance.  They are already built and you might look into one of those.