1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hatch newbie-need info on Brinsea Octagon Eco 20

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Hawkeye95, Nov 20, 2011.

1. Hawkeye95

Hawkeye95 Chillin' With My Peeps

Right now, this incubator is on sale for $109.99 (Brinsea Octagon Eco 20) Says it holds 24 eggs, but I doubt I'd ever fill it, I don't need anything too large, but I don't want to bother with anything too tiny, either. It has a fan... I'm okay with the Semi automatic-- which means you turn the incubator on it's side twice a day. It also says you can buy the automatic turner (later on if I ever wanted to). So what about this incubator? Anyone use them.. do you like it? Does it have issues? I'm a total newbie-- I've NEVER hatched.. ever. I need something dummy proof, but also CHEAP. This is right on my price range. Thoughts????

Edited to add-- what about this: "10200 Little Giant Foam Incubator" $84.50 This is cheaper and has a fan also! Thoughts??

Last edited: Nov 20, 2011
  2. Impress

Impress Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2011
    Gray, TN
    I have the Brinsea Octagon ECO and it is a champion, almost completely idiot proof! Great hatch rates, easy to adjust, has a fantastic thermometer that is spot on, easy to turn, easy to use for 2 eggs or 20, and I love it to pieces.

Another bonus, SUPER EASY TO CLEAN, very durable too, strong material and works like a charm. My first hatch was a 100% hatch rate in mine!

3. georgiagail

georgiagail Chillin' With My Peeps

It appears any problems with the Little Giant involves difficulty regulating the temperature. Lots of folks have posted about significant jumps in temperature with even very tiny adjustments.

I once had a LG incubator as a backup with my exotic finches. Ended up giving it away.