1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

hatch question

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by whippet128, Jan 31, 2009.

1. whippet128

whippet128 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 31, 2009
    I ordered some eggs to incubate. got some from the guy down the road. this is the 21st day. one of the ordered eggs hatched this morning. Another ordered egg is still working at it. One of the gifted eggs hatched about 4 pm The chick that hatched this morning is just laying around. the gifted one is stumbling all over my brower incubator. The shells didnt stick. Is this normal for a chick to just lay there? What causes chckens to grow to almost hatch then not hatch. this is my first time trying this. any advice would be cool. thanks

2. #1California Chick

#1California Chick Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 5, 2008
    SF Bay Area
    [​IMG] Welcome to BYC!!! [​IMG]

I have never hatched chicks, so I can't help you. However, I am sure that someone who is very knowledgeable will come along soon!!!

Cindy

3. LilRalphieRoosmama

LilRalphieRoosmama Officially Quacked

Oct 15, 2007
    Elyria, OH
    Congrats on your chicks! Some are a little slower than others to get moving. Once you get them into the brooder, you could add a little sugar to their water to help give them a little boost. Might not be needed but it doesn't hurt. Dip their beaks in the water so they know what it is and sprinkle some feed on the floor.

It should be dry and fluffy by now; if it's still really wet it might be "mushy chick syndrome", I think that's the terminology. If that's the case, unfortunately it probably won't make it.