Hatched on Day 29!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by TX AG Lab Teacher, May 10, 2011.

1. TX AG Lab Teacher

TX AG Lab Teacher Out Of The Brooder

May 10, 2011
    Houston
    Hello, I am a Science Lab teacher. I ordered some eggs from the poultry dept at Texas A&M. I started incubating (Little Giant) on April 11. I have been reading SO much on this site. All of last week I was so worried my eggs wouldn't hatch and began reading the many posts on this forum. Well, I am also very sick...I had to go to the emergency room on Friday (the 6th). I was planning on bringing the eggs home and giving them until day 28 (would have been Sunday) and then I was going to open them up to see what went wrong. Well, I got a call from my doctor and said I needed to get to an ER ASAP. So I had to leave the eggs in the incubator. I was also out yesterday (Monday). A fellow teacher was using my room to test in (its testing this week) and she texted me saying that one of my eggs started to hatch. I couldn't believe it. I told her not to "help" it and I told her to come to this website. She used her best judgement and told me the chick looked healthy and still had a long way to go and that we should wait until tomorrow. Well we both got to school the same time today and the chick was moving around in the incubator. He was all dry and his feathers fluffed out. He had 1 piece of egg shell on him that I took off. I am worried about him. He is seems very healthy...walking....peeping....however, he is really late.....I read on here that when they are this late they need to be given water and water should be put in some of the feed. He is not eating or drinking. I have a syringe that I have sucked up some of the very watery mush and tried to give some to him but he won't take it. Is he ok? What else do I need to do? I also read that they don't like to be alone. I am afraid none of the others will hatch. Also, he was kicking the other eggs around. Ahhhh!!!! What do I do?