1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hatcher's DO I NEED ONE???? and What exactly are they????? HELP!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by LaneKim, Jul 3, 2008.

1. LaneKim

LaneKim Out Of The Brooder

Jun 25, 2008
    Del Rio
    Hi everyone well you guessed it I'm a newbie and we are hatching eggs for the first time! I don't know what to do i've read there is something called a HATCHER???? What exactly is it and do I need it and WHERE oh WHERE ever do you get one???!!! [​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 3, 2008
  2. Mattake2

Mattake2 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 11, 2008
    Definitely! It's called an incubator or "bator". Little Giant makes one & so does Hova-Bator. The Little Giants are cheaper & they all do the same thing.

3. LaneKim

Jun 25, 2008
    Del Rio
    I have an Incubator and we put our chicks in today! But i was wondering about the hatcher do i take them out of the incubator and put them in the hatcher on day 21???

4. drafthorse39

drafthorse39 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 12, 2007
    Baltimore, MD
    Basically another incubator you put the eggs in on their last 3 days to hatch. Oh and no they can just hatch in your incubator, at least that's what I do. I only hatch 1 or 2 times a year though.

5. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

If your eggs are all due at the same time you don't have to have a hatcher...if you're doing a staggered hatch tho it works better with a seperate hatcher.

6. Farmer Kitty

Farmer Kitty Flock Mistress

Sep 18, 2007
    Wisconsin