Hatchery Confusion and Frustration...

audy5000g

Songster
8 Years
Feb 6, 2013
I have searched the Internet and asked many what hatchery is the best for healthy poultry. Poultry that are of great stock (whatever that means), poultry that will grow healthy and overall just be the best ever.

Well the answers completely contradict each other. Some love one and hate another and then others love the one hated and hate the one loved. AHHHHH!
barnie.gif

It's like who likes Pepsi and who likes Coke all over again. I'm a Pepsi girl. Coke, ick!

I have come to the conclusion that McMurray is a no-go. Well, I have ordered twice and I liked them for their birds. But what do I know, I am no professional. Most say they have bad stock and don't take care of the birds. And I did seem to get way too many roosters with my mix.

Ideal seemed great, but it seemed like they only like them because you can buy a smaller amount at a time. I ordered last year and they really messed up my order. Instead of 4 Emden Geese, I received 2 Emden, 1 Toulouse and 1 Sabestapool. I had no clue till the fair. When I told them this year, they kind of sounded as if I was crazy. Well we shall see what I get tomorrow. lol

Many seem to like Cackle saying that the birds seem to be healthier. But then I find so many bad reviews about many dying and the company doing nothing to make it better.

Good Grief, What is a girl to do. I know of no one around here that are local breeders.

Ok, my rant is over now

I have been happy with All of these at one time or another...
McMurray was where I ordered my first birds back in 98, exactly what I ordered and All lived.
I have ordered from Ideal a LOT and have been happy for most orders, I have had several crippled show up I orders, and a couple of times I had 1/2 and 1/4 box DOA but they happily refunded.