hatchin chicken eggs

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by rhonlan, May 14, 2010.

1. rhonlan

rhonlan New Egg

May 14, 2010
    ohio
    this is my first time hatching chicken eggs and i have 3 that have pipped very small holes and some that are moving and am wondering how long it will take them to hatch any advice or info anyone can offer would be greatly appericated

2. calicokat

calicokat Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2009
    azalia, indiana
    Well, I've read on here that it could be 15 minutes to several hours, it just depends on the chick. The waiting sure is the hardest part though. Go for a drive or something. Maybe you'll have the first one done when you get back [​IMG]

3. rhonlan

rhonlan New Egg

May 14, 2010
    ohio
    a couple of the eggs have made alittle progress but not much in 10 hours i am hopping they come on with it the waiting is driving me nuts

4. Kittymomma

Kittymomma Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 9, 2009
    Olympia, WA
    It can take 24 hours from pip to hatch. I had a duckling take 36 hours. It can be nerve wracking staring at the bator.

5. rhonlan

rhonlan New Egg

May 14, 2010
    ohio
    yes it can be nerve racking espically when it is in your bed room

6. biddybird

biddybird Chillin' With My Peeps

May 5, 2010
    Salado Texas
    Takes some awhile. Try not to watch too much, it will drive you crazy. Have fun and hope you have a good hatch!!![​IMG]

7. tammyd57

tammyd57 Chillin' With My Peeps

I have one that pipped yesterday morning. All it's done since is make the hole bigger and bigger, about the size of a quarter now. He's still breathing and even peeping now and then. The other 7 chicks that hatched before him have been kicking him around tryin to get him to finish hatching so they can all go in the brooder. [​IMG]

8. Toast n Jelly

Toast n Jelly Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 29, 2007
    St.Charles, QC
    [​IMG]

9. rhonlan

rhonlan New Egg

May 14, 2010
    ohio