Hatching Call Ducks under Broody Silkie Hens - Advice Welcomed

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Buugette, Jan 26, 2012.

1. Buugette

Buugette [IMG]emojione/assets/png/2665.png?v=2.2.7[/IMG]Cra

May 26, 2009
    Bucks County, PA
    This is my first time hatching duck eggs. [​IMG] My girls have always had very successful chick hatches, but now they are being put to the test with 14 call duck eggs.

The eggs were given to my Silkies on the Jan 21, so we are not even at a week. I brought Maxine and Madeline inside and they are happily nesting in a rabbit hutch (in my dining room - sun room too cold). It was funny watching each one select the particular eggs they wanted to sit on. They took turns tucking the eggs under them.

Once a day I take Maxine and Madeline outside to do their business, stretch their legs, eat, drink (I always have food and water available in their hutch)...

I know I have to start spritzing the eggs down with warm water at some point, but have not yet started that. I plan to attempt to candle next week.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Diana

2. k0r1nag

k0r1nag Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 11, 2010
    Kelso
    I have no tips but thought I would share my experience. Last Spring I used a banty cochin to sit a clutch of 12 call duck eggs. She sat the nest outside in a small house and run that sat on the ground in a bed of grass hay. I never wet the eggs, changed the humidity or did anything other than feed and water her as usual. Of the 12 eggs, 10 hatched perfectly, one never developed and one didn't make it out of the shell, although developed fully in the shell. These eggs were from mostly pet quality calls (larger bills, a bit too large in size and weight) and so they didn't seem to need any help with hatching as some people have found with the show quality birds. I did take the ducklings once hatched and reared them in a brooder in order to give them a different diet and more closely monitor their waterer.