Hatching chicks in the classroom--day 18 is over the long weekend.

seberger22

Chirping
May 25, 2017
This is my first time ever hatching chicks, and I'm doing it in my kindergarten classroom! We put our eggs in on May 11 around 10:00am. Everyone seems to agree that on day 18, the egg turner should be removed and the incubator should not be opened again until chicks hatch.
Unfortunately, day 18 falls on this Monday, Memorial Day..so we don't have school and I don't have a way to get into the building.
What should I do? Should I take the egg turner out in the morning on Tuesday the 30th as soon as I get to school (around 7:30)? I will need to increase the humidity as well, so I will have to open it anyway.
Also, my humidity has been dropping each night...is there any way to keep it more stable without adding more water those last few days?
Thanks!

Hello there and welcome to BYC! :frow

If you set them on the 11th, Memorial Day will be day 19? This weekend you will need to go into Lock Down, (take out the egg turners and get your humidity up to 65% or so.) Once they start pipping, you should not open the lid on the incubator so as to not dry out the ones that are breathing outside air. Day 19 is usually hatch day, but it is not set in stone, chicks can hatch a day or even several days later. So if you can get into the school on Saturday, go into Lock Down and get back into the school first thing Tuesday Morning.

However definitely post in the section that CTKen has linked you too. Good luck with your hatch and welcome to our roost! :)

Unfortunately I'll be out of town this weekend, leaving early tomorrow morning and there is also no school tomorrow. I'm not sure how to keep the temperature stable at 65% since I've been having to add water each morning to get it back to the correct percentage after dropping overnight.