hatching diaries - cochin crazy!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by slackwater, Jul 26, 2010.

1. slackwater

slackwater Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 1, 2010
    SoMD
    Okay, for the sake of sharing my hatching stories w/newbies and to keep myself on target...I plan to update the thread as I have new developments (and eventual pictures!)

I bought a new Hovabator Genesis w/a turner. This will be my new "main" incubator, with my Brinsea Octagon Eco as backup for when I order too many eggs [​IMG]

Anyway, join me in my journey! I promise to have some good pics of fluffy butts in the end [​IMG]

BLUE COCHINS:

July 16 - I received 12 blue cochin eggs (e-bay auction). All came intact, several may have had problematic air cells (I'm not good at figuring this out).

July 17 - I set all 12 blue cochin eggs in the Hovabator, which had already maintained a constant temp for 3+ days. Center water well is fully filled. The "due date" for these eggs is August 7.

July 26 - Candled today (day 9) - 2 clears, 3 quitters (all removed). I *think* the rest are still a go.

GOLD LACED COCHINS:

July 22 - I received 12 GL cochin eggs (e-bay auction) and 8 GL cochin eggs (BYC-er). All came intact. I didn't candle for air cells (not very good at it anyway).

July 23 - I set all 20 GL cochin eggs in the Hovabator. The "due date" for these eggs is August 13.

2. slackwater

Feb 1, 2010
    SoMD
    Okay, so here's my update (for all of my imaginary followers):

BLUE COCHINS

Of those due to hatch 8/7 - candled 8/2. 6 alive & kicking, 1 quitter. Removed the quitter. Will put those into lockdown on Thursday.

Rec'd another batch from a fellow BYC-er on 7/28. Let them sit overnight, set into the 'bator 7/29. Those are due to hatch 8/19.

GOLD LACED COCHINS