Hatching eggs the o'natural way!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Jashdon, May 5, 2008.

1. Jashdon

Jashdon Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 29, 2008
    Snohomish, WA
    I am thinking about letting one of our hens hatch some eggs this summer. I am new to chickens let alone hatching eggs. Is this something I can just "let happen" or will it take some intervention or planning on my part. I am thinking about converting a dog house into a brooder house for the hen and eggs/chicks to oversummer in. Is this a good idea or will the hen want to hatch in her regular coop/run? Any advice would be much appreciated. Thank you.

2. morelcabin

morelcabin Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 8, 2007
    Ontario Canada
    I have hatched chicks that way, and yes, seperating her into a doghouse would be a great idea. There isn't nearly as much work I found, momma takes care of them, no heat is required, and all you have to do is supply feed and water...

3. chicken_boy_Kurt

chicken_boy_Kurt Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 20, 2008
    When I tryed to move my broody orpington she would not sit (of course my chickens are psycotic). So she was off them for so long that I had to start her over (but she was fine to sit in her nest box). If she had just sat she would have fluffy chicks right now, but noooo she had to be all wierd about it. Sorry about that. So to answer your question, the hen usually plans it herself, and that story is my experience, so you might be able to move yours. Hope this helped.

4. Standard Hen

Standard Hen Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2007
    Massachusetts