Hatching for education?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by MrsFordTN, Mar 17, 2011.

1. MrsFordTN

MrsFordTN Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 16, 2011
    Knoxville, TN
    I have a couple quick questions about hatching eggs for education.

I am a local teacher in East TN, but not your normal 7-4 classroom kind. I home school special needs kids and a few other children though our home and I do visit their homes. The kids range from 7 to 15 years old. Here at my home, we have a small "pet based" farm, meaning everything has a name and a forever home....

Being close to the city, a lot of the kids had never seen farm animals or been able to interact with them. So with parent permission, We have been letting the kids experience some small stuff like feeding the chickens, petting our local farm goat, seeing our new rabbit kits in the nest box, just small wonders in my opinion. We already had a pet flock of chickens, a couple different breeds, that are yard birds but about a week ago I had a student ask how chickens were born. I tried to explain as best as I could, but then my husband had the idea of hatching out some babies so they kids can learn about it. We bought a small do it your self incubator and my grandfather gave us some eggs (I think... 7 OEG bantam silver duck wing, 5 Leghorn, 6 Green Eggs [can't remember the name off hand], and one pink-ish mystery egg, we have also added one from our local girl a game and any of our roosters could be dad).

My questions are pros/cons of doing this for the kids, helpful hints, dos/don'ts, etc? Don't get me wrong, I have don't research, but there are things you learn from experience rather then a page full of info.

Note: We have been letting the incubator warm up and settle on the right temp. and we have marked all the eggs, x on one side and o on the other, as we are hand turning them. Also, any hatched chicks will be donated to local 4H minus the mixed chicks, they will stay with us.

2. 7L Farm