Hatching Guinea Eggs

ala0399

In the Brooder
Apr 21, 2017
I am new to BYC. I have been reading threads for weeks, then I decided to go ahead and join! I need help. I started out with 17 guineas. Over a years time, we are down to 3.(one has a broken leg) anyhow, I found one of my hens on about 25 eggs. Free range. She went missing and I went searching and stumbled across her. Anyway, I am really wanting to incubate those eggs and hatch them myself. (Assuming they are fertile) I candled 2, however saw nothing, but I have no clue what I'm doing :). My question is, should I collect the eggs and try to hatch them? Or should I let nature take its place? My thinking is those keets survival rate isn't going to be very good.

guineas are notoriously bad moms.... they leave the nest, break eggs and this time of year even when the keets do hatch if the grass is wet it can cause them to get cold and die... I personally incubate the eggs as I have a better success rate after hatching

I just don't know how many days along they are. Or if they even are. I'm almost positive I have a male. Can I just set them at the standard temp/humidity?

I just don't know how many days along they are. Or if they even are. I'm almost positive I have a male. Can I just set them at the standard temp/humidity?

Yes you can just set them at the proper settings for the type of incubator that you have. Candling them before you set them may or may not give you a clue about how far they are along.

I have incubated eggs that have been sat on before I collected them. When the first ones hatched, I shut off the egg turner and raised the humidity for the remaining eggs.

Good luck.

guineas are notoriously bad moms.... they leave the nest, break eggs and this time of year even when the keets do hatch if the grass is wet it can cause them to get cold and die... I personally incubate the eggs as I have a better success rate after hatching