Hatching help

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by bosschris, Sep 21, 2016.

1. bosschris

bosschris Just Hatched

Sep 21, 2016
    Hello I am Chris and new to this site. I have lots of birds and love spending my days with my animals. I have had chickens before but I am new to ducks and Guineas. So that resents me with a question. I have a Pekin duck that started laying eggs and got upset when I removed the first one to the point she had all the other 5 ducks looking for the egg. Quite the noise they made, so I put it back and she then she laid about 10 more and I started finding her sitting on the nest. So I fenced off part of the coop for her and her best. Then to my amazement a silkie bantam stated hanging out with her and putting her eggs in the nest. I am finding that they are taking turns sitting on the nest of chicken and duck eggs. About twenty in total. Do I have any chance of the eggs hatching? I candled yesterday and from what I can tell I have chicks and ducks at various stages of grow. I marked them so I could pull any new eggs cause now a second silky has joined in. Any advice?

2. n8ivetxn

n8ivetxn Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 15, 2011
    Elma, Washington
    LOL, that's a funny story [​IMG]

Do you have a rooster in the pen with the silkie? What about a drake for the duck? - If you do have males in the pens with these girls, then yes, you should have little ones! [​IMG]However, ducks' incubation time is several days longer than chickens'....so you may need to separate them into two.....

Happy Hatching! [​IMG]

3. bosschris

bosschris Just Hatched

Sep 21, 2016