1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hatching issues

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by bostons barn, Nov 18, 2013.

1. bostons barn

bostons barn Out Of The Brooder

Nov 18, 2013
    Im fairly new at owning chickens but have been successful at hatching free range and incubated mallards. I was given two hens to add to my other hens and roos which i have also hatched eggs from. The new hens eggs it seems like the embryos die or never get all the way developed. I have had them for two months now and have not been able to hatch a chick from either chicken. Any ideas why

2. loveourbirds

loveourbirds Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2013
    waverly ohio
    are you using the hens, or an incubator?

temperature could be the issue if its an incubator, most thermometers are off - and can really mess with the hatch. even the thermometers that come with your incubator.

it can also be illness, or deficiencies in the hens. run your protein at about 18%, use vitamins and electrolytes mix (in the water) and see if that helps you.

3. Pathfinders

Pathfinders Overrun With Chickens

Jan 25, 2008
    Northern KY
  4. bostons barn

Nov 18, 2013
    Im using an incubator but i dont seem to have an issue with the other hens in the flock just these two newer ones. They are all being fed and watered the same and my incubator is brand new. I have not had any issues with my duck eggs either

5. loveourbirds

Mar 27, 2013
    waverly ohio
    ok, if i really had to guess: i would think that the ones you are having trouble with were in a barn and suffer from vitamin D deficiency.