Hatching???...why don't we just buy chicks??

Three Cedars Silkies

Crowing
11 Years
Apr 17, 2008
Gainesville, Fl.
I was thinking about this last night. I'm just beginning and have already spend almost $100 on just the eggs. Homemade Chic bator = $30 give or take. First hatch = 0%. I'm on day 8 of second hatch of 27 eggs. So if I get even 50% that will be 13 or so chicks. I can buy them from the hatchery for $2.00 - $3.00 each = $39 plus shipping

I WOULD ALREADY BE AHEAD!!!
rant.gif

Why do we put ourselves through this??? Why, why ??

I do both but there is nothing like the feeling of mothering an egg and having it turn into a chick. Then that chick lays an egg and on it goes.

I oooh and aaaah at the cute little hatchery birds and even get very attached to some. But an egg from start to finish has this special place. I don't even think it's the extra expense and worry of getting an egg through the mail and hatching it. Something else.

I am going to be practical. One more round of mailed eggs after this one is done. Then if I fire up the incubator again it will either be my own eggs or some bargain or special breed I can't get elsewhere.

I do it because alot of the breeds I want aren't commercially available through hatcheries and most breeders will not sell chicks.
smile.png
I've had good hatches and I've had some bad ones, I've also had chick orders that were good and bad also, it's a gamble either way.

I do it because I am trying to improve my breeding stock and like previously posted,alot of breeders(including me),don't ship chicks. I bought 6 chicks once and it cost me $40 for shipping,plus the price of the chicks. I can usually buy a dozen of eggs for less than that.

Your right, if it is just for a few birds one year, then it isn't a money saver. I know I do it though for the pure pleasure and experience of it, as well as to show my daughter some life (and sometimes death) stuff. Think of it as paying for an experience that not that many people get.