Having problems introducing Bantams with bigger birds...

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Chicken_Lover_2010, Sep 6, 2010.

1. Chicken_Lover_2010

Chicken_Lover_2010 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 6, 2010
    Hey, so I am new to owning chickens. I have done a lot of research, but I am having a little trouble figuring out how to introduce younger birds to older ones. I bought some Rhode Island Reds, ISA Browns and Barred Rocks at the same time, but my friend had some of their Bantam eggs hatch, I thought they were so cute, so I bought some off of him. Well now I am trying to introduce them to the older ones and I am having a little bit of a problem. I have been putting the Bantams in a run right next to the big ones for almost a week now, hoping that they would get use to each other, but I am still seeing the big ones pecking through the fencing at the Bantams. If anyone has any other ideas I would love to hear them. Thanks in advance.

2. emys

emys Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 19, 2008
    Idaho
    House them next to each other for a few weeks (it takes longer than 1 week). You will still have to keep a close eye when you introduce them because they will never be the same size, but, eventually all the complaining will calm down. Keep at it.

Just noticed your post count. [​IMG]

Last edited: Sep 7, 2010
  3. Chicken_Lover_2010

Chicken_Lover_2010 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 6, 2010
    Thanks I will try that

4. ellieroo

ellieroo Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 22, 2008
    I'm in the same boat and very worried about putting banties and bigger birds together! I wish us both luck! [​IMG]

Last edited: Sep 7, 2010
  5. Firearia

Firearia Chillin' With My Peeps

Same here, I'm afraid that my big orps would just obliterate the banties. So I decided to wait until next spring and see how the orpingtons deal with the EEs over winter.

6. kindir

kindir Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 27, 2009
    Connecticut