Having trouble buying chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by JLMom, May 8, 2009.

1. JLMom

JLMom Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2009
    Massachusetts
    Is anyone else having trouble buying day old chicks? All the feed places around me are seriously back ordered. Is it the economy, or is the hobby of backyard chickens really taking off (or both)? Any ideas?
    (I am in Massachusetts, near the Rhode Island border)

Last edited: May 8, 2009
  2. sonew123

sonew123 Poultry Snuggie

Mar 16, 2009
    onchiota NY
    The hobby has really taken off-I can attest to that-I'm a newbie and very busy with all my new adventures in chickens!

3. joedie

joedie Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 17, 2009
    SW Indiana
    I don't know where you live but Orscheln gets new chicks every Friday here. However TSC and Rural King have not had any for a few weeks ands don't plan on getting anymore.

4. MandyH

MandyH You'll shoot your eye out!

Both, from what the people are telling me it is the economy and the way things are going. People want them for the eggs and the meat in case times get worse. I have sold over 2000 chicks since March and a bunch of turkey poults too. Too bad you aren't close to me, I set 30 dozen brown egg layers eggs yesterday.

Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2009
  5. aidenbaby

aidenbaby Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2009
    Lochbuie
    I'm one of those that got a few for a variety of reasons. Economy (is it me or is the price of eggs just absurd?), organic, fertilizer, meat (only if I had to cull one) and how sweet (so far) the chickens are all things that played into my decision. Should everything get worse, you better believe I'll be finding someone to borrow a rooster or buying a roo for myself even though poultry of any type is not permitted in my zoning. I already have someone asking to buy eggs from me just because of the freshness factor and they won't be laying for months.