hawks

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by sweetie pie, Jan 21, 2015.

1. sweetie pie

sweetie pie Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 10, 2013
    Just lost one of my four chickens to a hawk. I have been so upset. They were out of their run like i have been doing for the last two years. Now I only let them out if I am out with them. Was wondering if a hawk will attack if Im out with them? Also the other three were so scared by everything that they have not laid any eggs in a week. Do you know how long it will be before they start laying again? Thanks in advanced and this is a picture of my three that are left[​IMG]

2. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    [​IMG] We're glad you joined us!

I'm sorry for your loss. [​IMG] Hawks don't usually attack while there are people nearby, but it does occasionally happen.

As for when your hens will being laying again, it is hard to know for sure. It will probably be at least a few weeks, though.

Good luck!

1 person likes this.
  3. sweetie pie

sweetie pie Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 10, 2013
    Thank you :)

4. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
    Hello :frow and Welcome To BYC! Sorry for your loss. Hawks are usually wary of humans, but some are very bold, so do be careful. Usually hens will start laying again a couple of weeks after an upset, but because of the time of year, if they have stopped laying it may be spring before they start up again.

1 person likes this.
  5. LipsChicks

LipsChicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 31, 2014
    North Dakota