Hay in coop? And other coop advice

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Marissao717, Jun 23, 2017.

1. Marissao717

Marissao717 Hatching

Jun 22, 2017
    Bethlehem, GA
    I put pine shavings in the built-in roost should I have anything at the bottom of my coop. It's now all mud.
    What do you use for watering chickens? It gets old rinsing out they watering thing and filling it up-
    Also when you supplement do you use a feeder or just throw for pecking?
    My chickens are 12ish weeks old and I'm new to this! Thank you!

2. SunHwaKwon

SunHwaKwon Crowing

Jul 19, 2015
    Coastal Bend, TX
    Okay so first you are talking about the run (the outdoors part) right? I like hay to to help with the mud. Just put a pile and the hens will scratch it and spread it around.

I use regular waterers.. a five gallon and a one gallon on opposite ends of the run. Depending on your space you can use a bigger waterer or if you are close to a spigot there are ways to use nipple waterers but someone else will have to comment on that.

Supplement as in scratch and scraps? Scratch I throw all over so they can "scratch" for it (hence the name). Depending on what the scraps are I will put them in a pan, like if its something watery/moist/runny, or I will just dump them on the ground in a fairly clean spot if its things like veggie peels and egg shells.

Marissao717 likes this.
  3. Marissao717

Marissao717 Hatching

Jun 22, 2017
    Bethlehem, GA

Yes run, lol! All great ideas I have some hay I'll go spread it right now. Thank you!

4. Dmontgomery

Dmontgomery Songster

Apr 1, 2014
    Longville, La
    Just to give you different ideas, I use raked up leaves in my run during the fall/winter. Then in summer I use grass clippings. They decompose a lot quicker than hay and they makes new dirt. I used to have hay but when I walked on it, it just sank in the mud. Then when it dried out, it was really hard to rake the old hay up to clean out the run.

Marissao717 likes this.