He ain't dead yet!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by joebryant, Dec 23, 2008.

1. joebryant

joebryant Overrun With Chickens

It's now 5:40 A.M. and the little Bantie (spelling?) wild rooster is crowing outside my daughter's house here in St. Augustine. I've been hearing for two years from all the neighbors how they're going to catch and kill it, but...

I've seen it in my daughter's yard, and it's too cute to bother.

Edit: It's now 7:00 A.M., and he's STILL crowing nonstop.

Last edited: Dec 23, 2008
  2. Three Cedars Silkies

Three Cedars Silkies Overrun With Chickens

Apr 17, 2008
    Gainesville, Fl.
    JoeBryant...are you down here in Florida?? If so, you're just a little over an hour from me. Nice weather, huh?? Cool but not too cold. ONly problem is that Christmas day is going to be warm..in the upper 70's..[​IMG]

I always like it when it's cold on Christmas Eve and Day...the rest of the time I don't really care!

3. joebryant

Yeah, I crossed the border when none of you Floridians were on guard. Have to sneak back into Indiana next Monday; hopefully, I won't get shot.
    We left Indiana Sunday with 14 degrees. Called my brother Monday, and Indiana had temp of 2 degrees. I told him not to let the chickens out of the coop (he's watching them) until it's above 32 degrees, so today will be their third day of being locked in the coop. I'm REALLY worried about my rooster's wattle after my having read the post about a rooster's eating his wattle and others' having to be (forget the word for cutting it off). I hope if mine is frost bitten that it will be okay until I get home so I can take it to a vet to have its wattle (whatever).