Head Bobbing

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by samuelsonfarm, Aug 29, 2013.

1. samuelsonfarm

samuelsonfarm Chillin' With My Peeps

May 27, 2013
    Well, I'm new to ducks, but it seems my 3mo old flock is starting to get a bit twiterpated if you know what I mean! I've seen lots of head bobbing around the pool and the males are climbing on top of the females too. I don't think any have successfully mated yet. My question is: what should I expect with regard to mating behavior? We ended up with 9 males and 4 females......I know....so sad. I think I will have to get rid of some of the males, but how? Is anyone going want to buy a drake? What do you all suggest? Also, when do you think we will start seeing eggs? We have a mixed flock of jumbo Perkins, black and fawn/white runners, Cayuga and buff. They were hatched on May26 from Metzer. Thanks for reading!

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    With 9 drakes there is a high potential that some of your ducks will be drowned when the drakes try to gang breed them. I would pick the 2 drakes that I most like and get rid of the rest if they were mine.

3. TAWAKONI

TAWAKONI Out Of The Brooder

Aug 13, 2013
    We have 7 ducks, and only 2 are females. The drakes go after the white pekin exclusively for some reason and its practically nonstop. We found her nest with 5 eggs in it but with the drakes chasing her around the pond she never sits on them. We get one to two eggs a week. She started laying just under 6 months. We don't want to get rid of our drakes so were just going to get more hens.

4. chicken pickin

chicken pickin Overrun With Chickens

Mar 3, 2012
    X2